Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Horse riding at Sardinia Bay

I've been on a horse only twice before. Once when I was in matric and again about 10 years ago.  So I jumped at the opportunity when I was invited for a ride by the friendly ladies at Heavenly Stables on Sardinia Bay Road.  Although there are many stables in the Sardinia Bay area, I don't think many people know that the public can go for rides here as well.  Heavenly Stables offer an 1 hour as well as a two and a half hour ride.  The latter was the one we went on and the trail took us through the Sardinia Bay Nature Reserve through coastal bush down to the beautiful Sardinia Bay beach.  I have to say I was expecting my backside to be sore the next day, but it turned out it was my knees (is middle age setting in?) and calves hurting from banging against the horse. *Phew* Thank goodness.  It was an wonderful experience to go on the ride though and I will go any time again.  Practise does make perfect.
 
Not being an accomplished rider I decided not to take my camera along, but did snap a couple of pictures with my Blackberry.

Disclosure: I went on the horse ride as a guest of Heavenly Stables and received no additional remuneration to write this post.  All views expressed are my own.

7 comments:

  1. How fun to ride on the beach.

    ReplyDelete
  2. What is the contact number to get hold of these poeple?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jackie@heavenlystables.co.za or Facebook search beach ride adventure heavenly stables

      Delete
  3. Hi. I would like to add my opinions and experience of Heavenly Stables which was unfortunately the total opposite. The woman who took us was dreadful her name was Jackie. She was texting throughout the ride and not taking any notice of us 3 riders. My friend fell off and was not injured. Then Jackie said I had ridden well for 2 hours so I could gallop on the beach. My stirrup fell off and I fell smack on my back. Jackie did not even want to help. She knew no first aid at all and was so horrible saying I had to get up and walk that because it was winter time there was no-one to rescue me. She then demanded her money for the ride. Finally the sea rescue team came and i was ambulanced to hospital. I can report I haven't broken my back but have severely damaged it and I had to cut my trip short and wasn't able to do my game ranger course. Heavenly stables are dangerous and irresponsible. Do NOT ride with them if you do not want to get hurt.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Georgie,

      Thank you for your comment,

      Sadly you did book for the advanced rider package, regrettably it wasn't an accurate demonstration of your riding ability, we do take safety seriously and your stirrup was a detachable one to prevent dragging.

      I am sorry to see that my smsing upset you I wanted to let the other guide know where we were.

      You did come off your horse in the water which was regrettable and you were very angy, I had the group to consider and chose to ring for help as I was unable to leave the group.

      Help did arrive thank goodness and you were taken to hospital where they confirmed the bump on your rear could be treated with some deep heat and a bath.

      I am sad to see that you didnt enjoy your experience and would hope that one day we could receive you as a guest again in the beginner tour.

      Regret
      Jackie

      * without prejudice*



      Delete
  4. Dear Georgie,

    Your post really put me off, I decided to google heavenly stables and came across their facebook page beach ride adventure heavenly stables they have over 600 likes and the reviews are amazing
    The photos are stunning even little kids as young as 5 going on rides I decided to see for myself

    What an amazing day we had I booked for the kids and I my girls are 13 and 5
    Our guide was a lady by the name of Barbera she gave us a safety demonstration and even taught us about riding in general, the ponies were adorable. On the route the kids chatted away I was even taught how to do a rising trot! Overall it was a great day out the ponies are very relaxed and know the trails so well that you are a passenger on the ride they are well behaved and the views were stunning. I enjoyed myself so much that I have booked for my friends to come again during the school holidays.
    I would highly recommend this adventure, they offer riding to all levels of rider they provide horses based on the riders ability if you say you can ride you will be given a horse to your requirements if trailing along without having to do anything is not for you and you would prefer to John Wayne it down the trail because you are looking for a challenge they will accommodate you.

    I asked about the stirrup that you mentioned, they showed us in the safety demonstration that it does detach for safety and is used on the horses that carry more adventurous riders

    It was explained to us that it will detach so that the rider is not dragged in the unlikely even that you fall off.

    I totally disagree with your post thank goodness I decided to try for myself what a great day out!

    ReplyDelete